My Life Story: Pt 1

​​Hi. My birth name is Sai Chandrika, which means Goddess of the Moon & the Stars. My American name is Erika. (My name was changed in America when I was adopted. Though, I am hoping to legally change it back to my birth name Sai soon enough. Sai is pronounced like sigh. Lol.)  I was adopted from Hyderabad, India when I was 18 months old. I came to America & was adopted by a Caucasian rich family. I lived in the south all my life: Florida, Plano, Texas, Georgia, Florida, & then I finally moved without my family to Michigan from 2014 to present. I had an older foster brother; he is 5 years older than me. He’s adopted from Florida.

Anyway, I don’t remember anything until I turned the age of 4 years old. I was a very active little girl. I was involved in indoor & outdoor soccer, basketball, sideline cheerleading, competition all-star cheerleading (I was nominated Top All-American Cheerleader by NCA—National Cheerleaders Association & I am a year round champion for all my all-star teams), dance (tap, jazz, ballet, hip hop, The Nutcracker Production, Dance Company, & acrobatics..), I did karate but only the white belt— my foster brother finished his karate & is a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. I love to sing, write poems, & draw, but between all of that…

I was physically abused by my “mother” from kindergarten to 4th grade. She punched me, shoved me, gave me bloody noses, threw me on the ground, stepped on me, hit me, ripped my skin off my face & left bloody scratches.

I’ll tell you about the bloody scratches: I went to school the next day & I still had bloody remains on my face & was scratched up pretty bad, but fortunately Social Services came to my school that day to talk to me & take pictures of my face. It was probably my teachers who told the authorities. Anyway, my mom had to sign a paper saying she would not hurt me physically on purpose again. She told it was my fault that they got involved though.

She denied everything, & then in third grade (2003), I was about 9 or 10 years old when my foster brother (the adopted one who is 5 years older than me) raped me continuously throughout that year. The very first time was the most disgusting memory & traumatic experience I ever had. I remember every part of the incident, & all the other times when he did it again, I remember them too. He told me if I ever told anyone, he would kill me. So, as a child of young age, I did not have the guts to speak up to anyone.

Then my parents had me going to a therapist & a psychiatrist all my life. People would call me a wild child. At a very young age, they diagnosed me with ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder). They had me on medication for the disorder to try to calm the symptoms. After that, we moved to Georgia in 2005, which was my fifth grade year in school. Years go by & high school starts.

P.S. ~ As my motto goes: Spreading Positivity Like PB & J.

Much Love To You All,

Peace. Love. Sai 🙂

My Life Story: Pt 1

Leave a Reply

